Complete reduction of counter staff through automated ticketing sales process – Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG ventures new paths

Together with Pricenow AG, Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG has chosen an innovative approach: ski tickets can be purchased either directly online or from ticket vending machines on site – there is no longer a counter for ski tickets at the lift station.

The Vals3000 snow sports area on the Dachberg reaches up to almost 3000 metres and delights at every altitude with its beautiful natural scenery. This includes a gondola lift, three T-bar lifts and a children’s area. In order to ensure the sustainable economic operation of the mountain railways and to use resources optimally, the company has focused on a groundbreaking strategy: since the winter season 2019/20, ski tickets can be purchased either directly online in the Pricenow web shop or on site at ticket vending machines. The counter for ski tickets has been completely removed. In order to provide customers in need of advice with the best possible service, the mountain railway staff will help on site in case of any problems.

The original cash desk is replaced by the Pricenow webshop
and two ticket machines

«The connection between the implementation of the Pricenow web shop with all relevant interfaces and the innovative approach of ticket vending machines without on-site cash desks has proven very successful. By externalizing the ticketing process, the customer is involved in the purchase process and he picks up his ski ticket by himself.» says Maurus Tomaschett, CEO of Mountain railways Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG.

The idea behind the consistently digital ticketing method was a new pricing strategy. Significant personnel costs can be saved through automated ticketing. This means that the guest can still be offered ski tickets at attractive prices. The process here should be service-oriented and tailored to customer needs.

Maurus Tomaschett is convinced: «The question we had to ask ourselves was how a smaller ski area can stand out and position itself in a competitive environment. The fixed costs in a ski area are the same every day, even when the slopes are empty.  That’s why we decided to work on the cost side through purely digital ticket sales, thus enabling a new pricing strategy. For this we also had to provide the technical facilities, which Pricenow has competently implemented for us in the form of their modern web shop».

Webshop Pricenow Bergbahnen Vals

Pricenow Webshop for Visit Vals AG

This includes the user-friendly and modern Pricenow web shop for Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG. The focus here is on a customer journey that improves sales. The Pricenow web shop has a clearly arranged display, so that you can easily find the desired ski ticket in a short time. The guest can buy his ski ticket comfortably from home or on the way in the mobile responsive web shop: This way the day on the slopes can start carefree.

Winter sports enthusiasts can purchase their ski ticket online in the web shop and, thanks to the existing interface integrations, load it directly onto their SwissPass or a SKIDATA keycard. This means that guests can pass directly through the access system of the mountain railway without further interaction at the ticket counter and start on the slopes without queues. In addition, the SKIDATA pick-up system has been integrated into the web shop in cooperation with Pricenow’s partner SKIDATA. This allows guests to convert their Print@Home tickets into ski tickets in seconds at the ticket vending machines at the lift stations.

The mix of the technical implementation of ticketing by Pricenow and the innovative approach without a ticket counter at the lift station is proving to be successful: customers are responding very well to the new approach and both the web shop and ticket vending machines are being used actively. With its radical step, Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG shows how the possibilities of digitalisation can be fully exploited and in particular smaller mountain railways can potentially gain new perspectives. The winter season has got off to a promising start, as Maurus Tomaschett says – so nothing stands in the way of a successful second part of the winter season!

Vollständiger Verzicht auf Kassenpersonal durch automatisierten Ticketing-Verkaufsprozess – die Sportbahnen Vals3000 wagen neue Wege

Zusammen mit der Pricenow AG hat sich die Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG für einen innovativen Ansatz entschieden: Skitickets können entweder direkt online oder am Automaten vor Ort gekauft werden – einen Kassenschalter für Skitageskarten an der Talstation gibt es keinen mehr.

Das Schneesportgebiet Vals3000 am Dachberg reicht bis auf knapp 3000 Meter hinauf und begeistert auf jeder Höhenlage mit einer wunderschönen Naturkulisse. Dazu gehört eine Gondelbahn, drei Schlepplifte und ein Kinderland. Um einen nachhaltig ökonomischen Betrieb der Bergbahnen zu fördern und Ressourcen optimal einzusetzen, hat sich das Unternehmen auf eine bahnbrechende Strategie fokussiert: Skitickets können seit der Wintersaison 2019/20 entweder direkt online im Pricenow Webshop oder vor Ort an Ticketautomaten bezogen werden. Der Kassenschalter für Skitageskarten wurde gänzlich abgeschafft. Um beratungsbedürftigen Kunden trotzdem einen bestmöglichen Service zu bieten, hilft das Bahnpersonal vor Ort bei allfälligen Unklarheiten.

 

Der ursprüngliche Kassenschalter wird durch den
Pricenow Webshop und zwei Ticketautomaten ersetzt

«Die Verbindung zwischen der Umsetzung des Pricenow Webshops mit allen relevanten Schnittstellen und dem innovativen Ansatz von Ticketautomaten ohne Kassenpersonal vor Ort hat sich sehr bewährt. Durch die Externalisierung des Ticketingprozesses wird der Kunde in den Kaufprozess miteinbezogen und er holt sein Skiticket selbst ab.» meint Maurus Tomaschett, Geschäftsführer der Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG.

Hintergedanke der konsequent digitalen Ticketing-Methode war eine neue Preisstrategie. Durch das automatisierte Ticketing können erhebliche Personalkosten eingespart werden. Dadurch können dem Gast Skitickets weiterhin zu attraktiven Preisen angeboten werden.  Der Prozess hierbei soll serviceorientiert auf die Kundenbedürfnisse abgestimmt sein.

Maurus Tomaschett ist überzeugt: «Die Frage, die wir uns stellen mussten, war, wie sich ein kleineres Skigebiet abheben und im Wettbewerb positionieren kann. Die Fixkosten in einem Skigebiet sind täglich gleich hoch, auch wenn die Pisten leer sind.  Daher haben wir uns entschieden, durch den rein digitalen Ticketverkauf auf der Kostenseite zu arbeiten und damit eine neue, attraktive Preisstrategie für unsere Kunden zu ermöglichen. Dafür mussten wir auch die technischen Voraussetzungen schaffen, welche Pricenow in Form ihres modernen Webshops für uns kompetent umgesetzt haben.»

 

 Webshop Pricenow Bergbahnen Vals

Pricenow Webshop für Visit Vals AG

Dazu gehört der nutzerfreundliche und moderne Pricenow Webshop für die Bergbahn. Der Fokus liegt hierbei auf einer vertriebsfördernden Customer Journey. Der Pricenow Webshop hat eine übersichtliche Darstellung, um in Kürze möglichst einfach zum gewünschten Skiticket zu gelangen. Der Gast kann sein Skiticket  bequem von Zuhause aus oder unterwegs im Mobile Responsive Webshop kaufen: Damit kann der Tag auf der Piste unbeschwert starten.

Der Wintersportler kann sein Skiticket online im Webshop kaufen und lädt es dank den vorhandenen Schnittstellenintegrationen direkt auf seinen SwissPass oder eine SKIDATA-Keycard. Damit können die Gäste ohne weitere Interaktion am Kassenschalter direkt durch das Zutrittssystem der Bergbahn gelangen und ohne Warteschlangen auf die Pisten starten. Zudem ist mit Pricenows Kooperationspartner SKIDATA das SKIDATA Pick-Up-System im Webshop integriert worden. Dies ermöglicht den Gästen, ihre Print@Home-Tickets in Sekundenschnelle am Automaten an den Liftstationen in ein Skiticket umzuwandeln.

Der Mix aus der technischen Umsetzung des Ticketings durch Pricenow und dem innovativen Ansatz ohne Kassenschalter an der Talstation zeigt sich erfolgreich: Die Kunden nehmen den neuen Ansatz sehr gut auf und sowohl Webshop als auch Ticketautomaten werden rege genutzt. Die Sportbahnen Vals3000 AG zeigt mit ihrem radikalen Schritt, wie die Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung voll ausgeschöpft werden können und insbesondere kleinere Bergbahnen damit möglicherweise neue Perspektiven gewinnen können. Die Wintersaison ist damit vielversprechend angelaufen, wie Maurus Tomaschett verlauten lässt – somit steht einer zweiten erfolgreichen Wintersaisonhälfte nichts im Wege!