La Clusaz SATELC launches Dynamic Pricing

La Clusaz Resort is introducing a dynamic pricing strategy from this 2020/21 winter season. As a pioneer among the French mountain railways, La Clusaz is thus one of the first major ski resorts to launch Dynamic Pricing for ski tickets, laying an important foundation stone for the long-term implementation of its forward-looking innovation and digitalisation strategy.

La Clusaz Resort has decided to implement a dynamic pricing strategy in order to evolve in the changing cable car industry. The new digital possibilities will strengthen customer relations and dynamic pricing will address different customer groups. With the experience of internationally renowned ski resorts such as St. Moritz or Verbier, Pricenow is entering the French market and will start a cooperation with SATELC in the coming season. Pricenow’s dynamic pricing solution is already widely used in the Swiss mountain railway and tourism industry and is continuously being developed: The prices of ski tickets are continuously and automatically adjusted according to various factors.

«Dynamic Pricing gives us the opportunity to address different customer groups and to reach guests with attractive ski ticket prices already in the pre-sales phase. At the same time, the pricing algorithm ensures that our price structure is optimised in a sustainable way», says Jean-Christophe Hoff, Director of SATELC.
After a comprehensive analysis of visitor behaviour and historical data, a precise pricing model was developed for the coming winter season. Dynamic prices are initially set for the main product, the day ticket, as well as the 4-hour ticket. The calculation of each price is based on several external factors and on a fully automated pricing algorithm. However, the cable car company is always in full control and can overwrite the prices at any time independently. The Pricenow Pricing Engine calculates targeted prices that take better account of customer behaviour and demand patterns and can therefore offer optimal incentives. The pricing project includes not only the introduction of dynamic pricing, but also comprehensive price optimisation, which has been developed together with La Clusaz.
«With the introduction of the new pricing strategy in cooperation with Pricenow, we intend to use the latest technological innovations to offer a wider price range and thus provide our customers with more choice. We will also be able to react faster and accelerate our digitalisation process», Jean-Christophe Hoff is convinced and continues: «Innovation is in the DNA of SATELC. The current crisis reinforces our opinion that digitisation and the use of more advanced technological tools is and will be necessary. Our collaboration with Pricenow was an easy decision: they are convincing in their approach and take into account all factors for optimal pricing. This is also reinforced by their proven expertise with key players in the cable car industry.»
The experience already gained with successful projects for dynamic pricing in Switzerland shows that this pricing strategy is beneficial for both the customers and the ski resort. While customers can benefit from more differentiated pricing, the ski resort can strengthen its digitalisation process and attract more customer groups by offering a wider range of different prices. Overall, the results of the last winter season show that ski resorts with dynamic pricing have increased revenues between 5% and 15%.
SATELC and Pricenow are optimistic for the next winter season:
«We are looking forward to this successful partnership. La Clusaz is one of the most important resorts in France with a first class reputation and image. We look forward to supporting La Clusaz with an optimal pricing strategy and digital tools for the next winter season», said Julien Harnal, Market Manager France for Pricenow.

The article «Tarification : La Clusaz suit la dynamique !» as published in Montagne Leaders on 24 September 2020: Read full article (French)

La Clusaz SATELC führt ab dieser Wintersaison 2020/21 Dynamic Pricing ein

La Clusaz Resort führt ab dieser Wintersaison 2020/21 in Zusammenarbeit mit Pricenow eine dynamische Preisstrategie ein. Als Vorreiter unter den französischen Bergbahnen lanciert La Clusaz damit als eines der ersten grossen Skiresorts Dynamic Pricing für Skitickets und legt damit einen wichtigen Grundstein für die langfristige Umsetzung ihrer zukunftsweisenden Innovations- und Digitalisierungsstrategie.

La Clusaz Resort hat sich für eine dynamische Preisstrategie entschieden, um sich in der wandelnden Bergbahnbranche weiterzuentwickeln. Durch die neuen digitalen Möglichkeiten wird die Kundenbeziehung gestärkt und mit einer dynamischen Preisgestaltung werden unterschiedliche Kundengruppen angesprochen. Mit der Erfahrung von international renommierten Skigebieten wie St. Moritz oder Verbier, tritt Pricenow in den französischen Markt ein und wird in der kommenden Saison eine Zusammenarbeit mit SATELC beginnen. Die Pricenow-Lösung der dynamische Preisgestaltung wird in der Schweizer Bergbahn- und Tourismusbranche bereits umfänglich genutzt und wird laufend weiterentwickelt.

«Dynamic Pricing gibt uns die Möglichkeit, unterschiedliche Kundengruppen anzusprechen und Gäste mit attraktiven Skiticket-Preisen bereits in der Vorverkaufsphase zu erreichen. Gleichzeitig stellt der Pricing-Algorhitmus sicher, dass unsere Preisstruktur nachhaltig optimiert wird.», meint Jean-Christophe Hoff, Direktor von SATELC.
Nach einer umfassenden Analyse des Besucherverhaltens und historischen Daten wurde ein präzises Preismodell für die kommende Wintersaison entwickelt. Dynamisch Preise erhalten in einem ersten Schritt das Hauptprodukt, die Tageskarte, sowie auch die 4-Stunden-Karte. Die Berechnung jedes Preises erfolgt aufgrund mehreren externen Faktoren und auf der Grundlage eines vollständig automatisierten Pricing-Algorithmus. Die Bergbahn hat jedoch stets die vollständige Kontrolle und kann die Preise jederzeit selbständig überschreiben. Die Pricenow Pricing Engine berechnet die Preise, welche das Kundenverhalten sowie das Nachfragemuster besser berücksichtigen und somit optimale Anreize bieten können. Das Pricing-Projekt beinhaltet jedoch nicht nur die Einführung einer dynamischen Preisgestaltung, sondern auch eine umfassende Preisoptimierung, die gemeinsam mit La Clusaz entwickelt wurde.
«Mit der Einführung der neuen Preisstrategie in Zusammenarbeit mit Pricenow wollen wir die neuesten technologischen Innovationen nutzen, um ein breiteres Preisspektrum anzubieten und damit unseren Kunden mehr Auswahl zu bieten. Wir werden auch in der Lage sein, schneller zu reagieren und unseren Digitalisierungsprozess zu beschleunigen.», ist Jean-Christophe Hoff überzeugt und meint weiter: «Innovation liegt in der DNA von SATELC. Die gegenwärtige Krise bestärkt uns in unserer Überzeugung, dass die Digitalisierung und der Einsatz fortschrittlicherer technologischer Werkzeuge notwendig ist und sein wird. Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit Pricenow war eine leichte Entscheidung: Sie sind überzeugend in ihrem Ansatz und berücksichtigen alle Faktoren für eine optimale Preiskalkulation. Dies wird auch durch ihr bewährtes Know-how mit wichtigen Akteuren der Bergbahnbranche bestärkt.»
Die bereits gesammelte Erfahrung mit erfolgreichen Projekten zur dynamischen Preisgestaltung in der Schweiz zeigen, dass diese Preisstrategie für die Kunden wie auch das Skigebiet vorteilhaft ist: Während die Kunden von einer differenzierteren Preisgestaltung profitieren können, kann das Skigebiet seinen Digitalisierungsprozess verstärken und durch das breitere Angebot verschiedener Preise mehr Kundengruppen anziehen. Insgesamt zeigen die Ergebnisse der letzten Wintersaison, dass Skigebiete mit dynamischer Preisgestaltung den Umsatzes zwischen 5% und 15% gesteigert haben.
SATELC und Pricenow sind optimistisch für die nächste Wintersaison:
«Wir freuen uns über diese spannende Zusammenarbeit: La Clusaz ist einer der wichtigsten Ferienorte Frankreichs mit einem erstklassigen Ruf und Image. Wir freuen uns darauf, La Clusaz mit einer optimalen Preisstrategie und digitalen Tools für die nächste Wintersaison zu unterstützen.», so Julien Harnal, Market Manager Frankreich für Pricenow.

Der Artikel «Tarification : La Clusaz suit la dynamique !» ist am 24. September 2020 im Montagne Leaders erschienen: Vollständiger Artikel lesen (Französisch)