Lecture at the FH Graubünden: Dynamic Pricing at Swiss mountain railways

Just before the winter season, the topic of Dynamic Pricing for Swiss mountain railways is once again heatedly discussed.

This not only in the industry itself, but also by research, universities and prospective tourism professionals. As key speaker Pricenow designed the DSS lecture of the University of Applied Sciences Graubünden on 26th of September on the topic “Dynamic Pricing and Data Analytics – First Insights into a new era for Mountain Railways”.

With 220 listeners, the auditorium of the University of Applied Sciences Graubünden was filled to capacity for Pricenow’s guest lecture. A new record high for the Distinguished Speaker Series, which is regularly organised by the University of Applied Sciences Grisons and provides a platform for “the most innovative and out-of-the-box thinking guest speakers from the tourism industry”. In front of a knowledge-hungry audience full of up-and-coming talents, Pricenow debated the topic of Dynamic Pricing and Data Analytics in the mountain railway sector together with prospective tourism managers and lecturers.

Together with David Wyssen (CEO, Sportbahnen Bellwald), first of all the current challenges of the mountain railway industry were taken up and then possible solutions using dynamic pricing and data analytics were shown.

It could be emphasized that dynamic pricing is only one possible form of price differentiation and that the price management of a mountain railway should be viewed holistically. In addition, the hosts and Pricenow agreed that the topic of customer knowledge and data analytics will cover at least an equally important aspect of future industry development. David Wyssen was able to provide exciting insights into the results of the last winter season: dynamic prices enabled the online share of ski ticket bookings to be increased from 0% to almost 30% within one winter season, while at the same time significantly increasing the average yield for various product categories. Wyssen and Bellwald Sportbahnen AG have now successfully applied the customer knowledge they have generated to innovative digitization and marketing measures.

We were overwhelmed by the number of interested students and lecturers, who encouraged discussions with exciting questions. However, all participants agreed on one point: with the new technologies in the field of pricing and data analytics a new era will dawn for mountain railways.

Fach-Vortrag an der FH Graubünden: Dynamic Pricing bei Schweizer Bergbahnen

Kurz vor der Wintersaison wird das Thema Dynamic Pricing für Schweizer Bergbahnen wieder heiß diskutiert. Dies nicht nur in der Branche selbst, sondern auch von Forschung, Hochschulen und angehenden Tourismusfachkräften. Als Key-Speaker gestaltete Pricenow am 26. September den DSS-Vortrag der Fachhochschule Graubünden zum Thema „Dynamic Pricing and Data Analytics – First Insights into a new era for Mountain Railways“.

Mit 220 Zuhörern war der Hörsaal der Fachhochschule Graubünden für den Gastvortrag von Pricenow bis auf den letzten Platz gefüllt. Ein neues Rekordhoch für die Distinguished Speaker Series, welche regelmässig von der Fachhochschule Graubünden organisiert wird und eine Plattform für „die innovativsten und out-of-the-box denkenden Gastsprecher aus dem Tourismusbereich“ bietet. Vor einem wissenshungrigen Publikum voller Nachwuchstalente debattierte Pricenow gemeinsam mit angehenden Tourismusführungskräften und Dozenten das Thema Dynamic Pricing und Data Analytics im Bergbahnbereich.

Gemeinsam mit David Wyssen (CEO, Sportbahnen Bellwald) wurden zunächst die aktuellen Herausforderungen der Bergbahnbranche aufgegriffen und danach mögliche Lösungswege durch Dynamic Pricing und Data Analytics aufgezeigt.

Dabei konnte herausgestrichen werden, dass Dynamic Pricing nur eine mögliche Form der Preisdifferenzierung darstellt und das Preismanagement einer Bergbahn holistisch betrachtet werden sollte. Zudem stimmten die Gastgeber und Pricenow darüber ein, dass das Thema rund um Kundenwissen und Data Analytics einen mindestens genauso wichtigen Aspekt der zukünftigen Branchenentwicklung umfassen wird. Hierbei konnte David Wyssen spannende Einblicke in die Ergebnisse der letzten Wintersaison geben: So konnte mit dynamischen Preisen bereits innerhalb einer Wintersaison der Online-Anteil von Skiticketbuchungen von 0% auf knapp 30% gehoben werden und dabei zudem der Durchschnittsertrag für verschiedene Produktkategorien massgeblich erhöht werden. Das generierte Kundenwissen konnte Wyssen und die Bellwald Sportbahnen AG nun in innovative Digitalisierungs- und Marketingmassnahmen erfolgreich einfliessen lassen.

Wir waren überwältigt von der Anzahl an interessierten Studenten und Dozenten, die uns mit spannenden Fragen zu Diskussionen anregten. Bei einem Punkt waren sich jedoch alle Teilnehmer einig: mit den neuen Technologien im Bereich Pricing und Data Analytics wird eine neue Ära für Bergbahnen anbrechen.